HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

My Mother’s Voice

Leave a comment

I love my mom. I would do anything for her. But sometimes, I can’t stand her. I don’t ever want to feel this way but it just happens. My mother has a voice that is unbearable to me. Don’t get me wrong, it doesn’t happen all the time. It mostly happens when I am already previously upset because earlier in the day something happened.

My mom has a very high pitched voice. She also has the tendency to yell as she is speaking. She does not do it on purpose either, it just happens naturally to her.

I remember one day I was previously annoyed with one of my friends. She had promised to do something by that day but didn’t do what she was supposed to do. This annoyed me very much. My mom came into my room and began asking me a million questions. They were questions like “What happened with your friend?” “What are you doing?” and so on and so forth. The fact that i was already annoyed and having to hear her high pitched voice over an over again made me so angry. I flipped out. I had snapped. I didn’t mean to but I yelled at her to the point where she had tears in her eyes. Β After she walked away, i felt extremely guilty and full of regret for reacting so negatively towards her.

I feel like it is wrong to judge someone based off of their voice. Every time i talk to my mom, i always tell myself to calm down and to not react the way that i am going to react, but it never works. My mom is not a super annoying person at all. But because her voice is high pitched, i often get annoyed.

I want to say that people have judged me previously just by listening to the sound of my voice. i would hate that to be the truth just because i have seen my mom’s facial expression once i have snapped on her because i thought her voice was annoying.

Leave a Reply

