HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Self Concept

Leave a comment

I don’t believe that media influences how we see ourselves very much, not by the kinds of television programs someone watches or the genres of music they listen to at least. Although I do think that people will lean towards looking at things online that confirm what they already believe in, which can further influence them into that line of thinking. Almost all news and social media type sites are biased towards one side or another, so if people continually go to the same places to satisfy their confirmation bias it can lead to media influencing their views. I would label myself as a student and I think that’s a positive thing. It doesn’t affect the way I see myself very much, but when talking to other people outside of school, it is what I consider my current ‘occupation’. I believe it is a positive thing though as continued education, especially in my family, is valued and important. I don’t have much of an online presence at all, so I think if a future employer were to look into my social media they wouldn’t form much of an impression either way, positive or negative. I’m sure they wouldn’t find anything that would cause them to question whether they should hire me, so I wouldn’t change much. Although, I try to always keep that in mind to not put too much out there online or on social media sites. I’ve never had an issue with sharing too much information too soon in a relationship and it’s never been the reason for the end of a relationship. I also don’t usually experience people sharing too much too soon with me, or maybe I just don’t consider it to be too much. I’ve never had much of an issue with being open and talking about most things, even early on in relationships.

Leave a Reply

