HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Life as a Salesman(Prompt #2)

Leave a comment

As a teenager and young adult I have had the pleasure to work for a multitude of companies in mostly retail. Although each company had its own products whether that be a movie theater of a clothing store, I found the job I was most good at was working as a salesman as a supplement shop called GNC. At this store each salesman had to become familiar with most of the products so that we could inform the customers efficiently on their purchases and become better at pitching our sales. This being the case, the ย emphasis very much dominated the atmosphere of the store as we were celebrated each time we convinced a customer to expand their purchase or try out a new product. This was very fun although there were times where added stress was present if we failed to meet the quota for the day. There was a competitive atmosphere in the store as a whole and as a new employee it was as tradition that I had to earn my keep by displaying my competency. My first sale on protein powder was celebrated by my fellow employees and marked my first real contribution to the company. From there I learned more skills that I needed for the job and with time became proficient at a variety of tasks. These are some of the aspects that display tradition in my respective workplace.

Leave a Reply

