HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Communal and Agentic Freinds

Leave a comment

In life we meet a lot of people especially during your school years. People come in and out of our lives very often. We take multiple classes during the semester with new people who we may never really see again or talk to. People like that are agentic, agentic friends are the people we meet in class who are our partners in groups and help us with trivial matters like work,studying or moving from our house.  An example of an agentic friend for me is my Spanish partner although we talk in class and study, we rarely see each other outside of class. although shes a nice person and helps me with class, we never really go past the trivial boundary. We talk about common things like our life and interest but we never help comfort each other or talk about our emotions and insecurities. Shes a really nice person but our relationship doesn’t require us to open up fully to each other. A friend who helps give you advice and helps you gain confidence  is an communal friend. These are your close friends who you often times have a stronger connection with. Currently I have this sort of relationship with my best friend. We usually tell each other when we are feeling down or just what happening in our life’s. If I’m ever feeling down or overthinking a situation I can always count on her to help me out and get me in the right mindset. The same goes for her if she’s worried about something she can tell me although I’m not the best at giving advice, I try my best to help her with anything that she needs. With communal friends it feels like you can tell them anything and they will listen. While agentic friends are just kind of there to help with trivial matters such as school.

Leave a Reply

