HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Family is always there.

Leave a comment

 

I have always valued my family over my friends. Growing up my parents were very traditional and did things as a family. Something as little as eating family dinners every night is something I value. Aside from family traditions, I have always just knew that family will always be there for you. Sometimes it feels like even my closest friends are not as reliable as my family. I have an older sister (Kristine) and an older brother (Paul), who I consider to be my best friends.

Certain family members I definitely can feel a sense of wanting to keep certain things Β private. I have two older girl cousins who tend to be particularly judgmental. I love them, of course, they are my family — however some things are just better not to be said around them. Since I am the youngest I usually tend to get the short end of the stick, or I do not get taken seriously. At times it is extremely frustrating because as a 19 year old I have my priorities together and I hate how I constantly feel the need to prove to people that I am capable of accomplishing things. Even though it is not always said, it is like I can sense it because of things that have happened in the past. They used to say that I needed to lose weight, and now that I am still active (was going through puberty while getting teased from girls in school and two family members, always played a sport..etc) they say I need to enjoy food/life more.

It is hard because since I go to school far away from home, I always want to visit all of my family when I am in town. As I have grown older, I have slowly learned that I just need to distant myself in some areas away from them. With my brother I feel like I can talk about absolutely everything, my sister is the same concept but I feel like we are not as close as we used to be. My immediate family knows me inside and out even if I do not want to communicate what is on mu mind. Other family members, I like to catch up, but I also know to avoid certain topics. So usually I talk about school, how I am doing up in Monterey, or any fun places I have explored in the area.

Leave a Reply

