HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Family Members

Leave a comment

My family life has always been a little different, as my parents divorced when I was very young, and I lived in two separate households until I was 16. So it was very difficult spending half the week at one parent’s house and the other half at the other parent’s house, especially when they live in different cities. Then my parents started dating other people again, and eventually a new step-parent moved into each household along with kids of their own. Or in the case of my dad’s house, we moved into his girlfriend’s house along with her two daughters. And at my mom’s house her boyfriend moved into our house along with his two daughters. So I had two separate houses along with two different families to live with throughout most of my childhood. Since there was so many people living together in the same households, I was always forced to share a room with my brother, and before then I even had to share a tiny bedroom with both my brother and my sister. The three of us cramped into a tiny office-sized room sharing a bunk bed was not the best sleeping situation, to say the least. It was basically 3 families living in 2 houses, and my brother my sister and I were the family that had to go back and forth between those 2 houses. And because my parents lived so far apart, there was nearly a half hour drive between the houses, it was like living in two entirely different places. One house in a forest with no neighbors and not near any real town, and the other right in the middle of a suburban neighborhood in a small, quiet town. But it was interesting, and sometimes difficult living with and being part of three different families while growing up.

Leave a Reply

