HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Respect

Leave a comment

A tradition or communication practice that my family/ culture does is that we call everyone we know Aunt, Uncle, Brother, Sister, Grandpa, or Grandma. In Singapore its really common to call people like this even if we just meet them. Its how we greet anyone because its shows signs of respect and if you don’t call them by these familiar nouns it’s seen rude. For example when you get into a taxi you would call the taxi driver uncle: “Uncle can you please take me to Toa Payoh lor 7.” Also like when my mom would introduce me to her friends she would say, “Desiree this is uncle Rishma or ect” even though that would be the first time I met him and I’m not even related to him in anyway.

Also because my family has a lot of Chinese members in our family we use a lot of Chinese dialect in how we talk to each other. Like because I’m older than all of my cousins they refer to me as Jiejie which just means older sister but we call everyone who is older than us that. Which I actually don’t like because it doesn’t feel special sometimes because we call everyone that but my family still calls me that.

Leave a Reply

