HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Sometimes text isn’t the best way

Leave a comment

I’ve always been a person who is upfront with others when there was some type of conflict between us. I don’t like it when people try to ignore or avoid the situation just because they don’t want to have it. Whenever you might have a problem with someone I believe its important to figure out what went wrong and talk about it because if you don’t whenever you see that person you will be upset with them. With that being said I’ve had a situation that was like this that I could have handled better.

My really close friend, that I have known for like 6 years now, and I had this really petty argument about something one day and usually if we do fight we never have to talk about it we just come to a mutual understanding about it but this time was different. I had heard from another friend that she had been really upset with me this time and I wanted to be the bigger person and apologize first so instead of calling her to talk about it I texted her. Now this is where I totally messed up I’ve learned you should never text people when your having some type of argument because text does not always express how you really feel about something. Moral of the story she got angrier because of the text and then we got into a bigger fight about things which was really sad because she is like one of my best friends. However, the next day was school and I went up to her because I just felt really bad and explained that I was really sorry and like we shouldn’t be fighting over something dumb and then we were fine. But because of this whenever I am having any type of conflict with anyone I know I always either talk to them in person or like call them because why make a small issue into a bigger one.

Leave a Reply

