HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Touch

Leave a comment

I’ve never really been a very touchy person meaning I don’t really care for others touching me and I don’t really care touch other people. Its always really funny because whenever people hug me they always get upset when I don’t hug them back but I can’t help it I’ve always been like that. Even with really close friends and immediate family I am not very touchy with them. My family isn’t really the type of people do be affectionate in that way either so its probably comes from them. We never hugged or did things like that just when we see each other; its like a mutual understanding about it and I never took it personal that my family wasn’t affectionate in that way.

I do think if I increased the amount of touch with others it would benefit my very much. I am affectionate in other ways and people who are close to me know that and I think they would be weirded out if I started touching them all of a sudden. They would be concerned if something was wrong with me and ask me why I’m being like this all of a sudden. I understand that the functions of touch in personal and professional areas are important to know and I think that its important to know about these different touch functions because of the different experiences you go though in your life concerning touch.

Leave a Reply

