HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Proxemics

Leave a comment

How close we get to others and close we let others get usually vary upon how comfortable we are around certain people.I am usually quite comfortable with people physically being around me. I never really have a problem with being around someone unless i personally dislike them.People being in my public space is no problem to me, because we are constantly  around others throughout our life. when we just walk around our neighborhood or our college campus there are numerous people that come in contact to our public space and it becomes normal. The only time it is a problem is if they seem to be aggressive or have hostile intent, then in those instances I try to leave as quickly as possible. With social space it is more used when talking to someone casually or in the workplace. I feel like social space is used for when you are first meeting someone who you just came across, like if you  just met  someone at the bus stop or the park and start a conversation. You are not completely comfortable with the person but are now locked in conversation to see if you want to get to know them. Personal space is used for friends and family. Personal space for me is if you are just hanging out with friends or eating a meal with someone. Also if you are in a large group but in a small area like a party or dance. Intimate space is usually for really close friends or people your in a relationship with.  I have to admit sometimes it can be startling when someone you barely know touches you, because you just expect certain people to never put there arms around you.  I most often let people into my intimate space if me and the other person are just super hyped on something then its just  hugs and high fives all day.

Leave a Reply

