HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Nonverbal Communication

Leave a comment

I am definitely an M-time person, and my results from the self-quiz clearly reflect this. I am always checking my phone to see what time it is throughout the day, and I always want to know about what time it is. I’ve always been an M-time person, even when I was younger I would constantly check and keep track of the time in class. I would know the location of the clock in all my classes, and usually be looking forward to when lunch started or when school ended. I remember my dad used to ask me what time it was when we were driving around, and I would be able to guess the time within a few minutes every time even if I hadn’t checked in a while. Especially when I have a deadline or appointment, I am always very conscious of how soon it is and how much time I have until then. Although if I am not busy I can be a P-time person, especially on vacations were I can relax and not stress or worry about schedules. Except when I was much younger, only 2 or 3, I would ask how many days were left on our vacations, every single day. Over time I’ve had to work on learning not to worry about the time so much, and I’ve gotten much better about being a P-time person when it comes to relaxing on vacations, or not being concerned with work. So there is not much of an interpersonal impact because of my personal time orientation.

As far as proxemics go I am most likely to allow family or friends into my personal space. When meeting someone for the first time I will always shake someone’s hand if they offer it, but I will almost never be the person to initiate a handshake.

Leave a Reply

