HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Hearing your voice.

Leave a comment

The one person’s voice who I always react to is my dad’s. Maybe I listen to him the most because he is my dad. However, since my dad is able to have 100% emotional control over me sometimes it affects me. I always want to make my dad proud and never disappointed even though I have disappointed my dad before. To me, my dad is everything. He is my guardian, someone I can talk to (usually), someone who will always care and want the best for me. Recently over this Christmas break, I got a tattoo on the side of my left arm. This tattoo is extremely meaningful to me because it is my dad’s exact rose with his handwriting on my arm saying “Love, Dad” from a birthday card I had. I think it is important to be able to judge someone’s voice because it is what makes you feel comfortable. The tone especially for me is something that I look at. If someone talks to me with a tone usually it sets me off or makes me feel like I am getting sensitive.

Leave a Reply

