HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Eye Contact

Leave a comment

My boyfriend and I have been dating for almost a year and three months. I know what he’s trying to say sometimes by just the eye contact we make. I guess it could also be the fact that I just know him extremely well too, but I personally think it’s the eye contact.

For instance when we lock eyes for multiple minutes, it creates a sense of seriousness and we both know that what we are discussing is something to not take lightly. This mostly happens when we are having an argument or heated discussion if you will. When I get upset and want him to really hear me out and listen to what I’m saying, I make sure to let him know by not taking my eyes off his and vice versa. On the other end when someone breaks the eye contact or refuses to make that contact, it shows the other their emotions towards the topic. Whether it is sensitive, uncomfortable, or whether they were even angry with the comment that the other made. Eye contact reveals it all.Β Another thing we do is lock eyes in order to make sure the other is paying attention. Sometimes he will be playing video games and I will ask him to please listen to me and in order to get him to really hear me out, I ask him to look at me and we make eye contact in order to make sure he is listening to me.

Leave a Reply

