HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Verbal Communication

Leave a comment

I wouldn’t consider changing my given legal name for several reasons, but one of the primary reasons is that I like my name. My name was purposefully spelled differently than the usual way, my parents have told me, which at times can make it difficult when trying to spell my name out to people and fill out official forms. And I would rather add another last name onto my own and use two last names than adopt a different last name, if necessary. I would prefer this because last names can carry some importance and can be interesting with discovering one’s heritage or ancestry.

My native tongue, also known as a first language, is English. The ability to fluently speak English enables me to communicate ideas efficiently with other people who share English as their first language. I’ve learned from my Spanish classes that it can be more difficult to communicate with people who do not speak English as their first language. Especially when it comes to explaining more complex ideas or trying to understand someone else’s accent can even be challenging at times. And there has been several times in my classes were there was a foreign exchange student learning Spanish as their third language and English was their second language. So there were more cultural differences and an additional layer of translation necessary for effective communication. The more basic parts of communication were still quite easy, but certain parts were more challenging and took extra time and patience.

My score on the Self-Quiz ‘Test your Deception Acceptance’ rates me to have moderate deception acceptance, which would be someone who believes deception is acceptable under certain circumstances. And while I do think that deception is wrong in the majority of instances, I believe in certain circumstances it can be the right thing to do.

Leave a Reply

