HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

The Importance of Native Tongue

Leave a comment

My first language is English but my mother also talked to me in her Native tongue which was Tamil and Malay which is . Living in the States English is important to communicate easier with others here. Most people in the states speak English and if you do not it can be hard at times. It also can be seen as a universal Language; meaning if you go somewhere else in the world there is a good chance that you will be able to communicate with them because nowadays schools around the world require students to learn another language and usually the language is English. Also many students in other Countries once they finish Secondary school they want to go to University here in the States which if they want to be able to communicate easily with people in the States and understand whats going on around them.

So the language I speak distance me from others because even though around the world people are learning English not everyone is and communicating with others becomes very difficult. For example when I go to China to visit my family my cousin has to be with me when we go out so that she can translate or like when we go to et she has to order for me. I also think with not speaking other languages it stops you from be able to really understand another groups culture or traditions. I think its important to be knowledgable about others around you.

Leave a Reply

