HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Perceiving others

Leave a comment

First going into work, I loved my job. I loved my co-workers. I loved my managers. I even adored our store director. They were all amazing people with such great personalities. Not to mention I got along with all of them extremely well.

Here’s some background on the topic: I do not agree with President Trump’s views and actions as our nation’s President so far. With that being said, I am a feminist and I support many movements that have been impacted by this new Presidency. Now back to the story.

As I was working one day, one of my managers was talking about President Trump. I am not necessarily the type of person to really be out there about my political beliefs, but I guess she was. She was talking about the travel ban and how she felt it was incredibly necessary because of all the immigration problems we have. I couldn’t believe it. I had thought she was the sweetest human being ever and now my thoughts of her were kind of everywhere. She was still an amazing person, but HOW?! HOW did she agree with such a man?! Being as though I was only an employee, I knew I would get fired in a second for going crazy political about something like that. I didn’t want to lose my job. After I heard her say that, I couldn’t get it out of my head. I was completely shocked and I really didn’t even know how I should have reacted. We happened to have the same break time and I guess she was not done with her Trump conversation. I tried so hard to hold everything I was feeling and thinking inside. Then it just slipped out: ‘do you agree with everything he says?’ ‘No, I don’t. I don’t agree with his thoughts and ideas regarding woman’s rights.’ HERE WE GO!!!!! I was so happy that there was at least something that she did not agree with. I constantly found it hard to just hear how much agreement there was with it and that was my problem. I didn’t agree with those ideas and I wanted to stop the conversation on them.

Ultimately, I was glad that we found some sort of common disagreement with President Trump because it also made her realize that I was not his number one fan. In this case, I don’t know if I really became more world-minded but I did kind of find a solution in order to approach those who I am in constant disagreement with on a topic. My main struggle was approaching the question because I could no longer bare to hear her talk about why something as drastic as a travel ban should be imposed.

Leave a Reply

