HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

A New Last Name

Leave a comment

In the future, I do want to get married and have a family. I would like to raise a family down in San Diego where I am from. I love the area and how family oriented my town is. When the time comes, I will change my name to my spouse’s last name. I find that there is nothing wrong with changing my last name. I feel like I am also old-fashioned/very traditional so this subject does not bother me personally. I would not hyphenate my last name just because I have never pictured or thought about it. I would say that I use “we language” and that this is why it would work. I have talked about marriage before using “we language” (even though marriage is completely out of the picture for right now). Using we language in a relationship I feel like is extremely healthy and I am glad that I use it. I never want to blame or point the finger at my significant other.

Leave a Reply

