HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Listening vs Critism

Leave a comment

 

 

The person I consider an effective listener would be a friend back at San Diego. The many reasons why I can always count on her to listen than other close friends is because she demonstrates nonverbal gestures as nodding her head, good eye contact, and positive and supportive feedback. The reasons why her supportive feedback and backchannel cues as nodding, is the best quality for an effective listener is because her feedback does not contain judgment, criticism, or a quick way to solve the problem or the situation. In my point of view when I talk to others, they automatically want to give feedback in how to solve or open a new topic or experience they similar had to mine. Listening is about demonstrating you are analyzing their information and give your total attention to the speaker without any distractions or demonstration of noncaring of the conversation. What I really appreciate about my friend listening skill is that if I’m speaking and she interrupts me, at least she will ask questions for clarification or to have more details about the topic, which it demonstrates that she is listening and having her total focus on me.

Leave a Reply

