HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Active Listening

Leave a comment

I feel like it is hard to have conversations with people in society today. I can have conversations with numerous amounts of people that I enjoy, but there is one person I can always count on. My boyfriend, Derek is someone I can always count on when I am talking. The way he gives me attention and listens is something I would not trade. I feel like people could be all different kinds of listeners from this chapter. Depending on what kind of mood you are in especially. For the majority of time though, Derek always gives me his full and undivided attention. I know I can always count on him giving me positive feedback such as: head nodding, direct eye contact, and facial expressions. To me, this means a lot because I was raised to give people my attention while someone is speaking you. I would consider Derek being a people-oriented listener. We always appreciate the time we get to talk and cherish the time we are able to have between having a fully loaded schedule. Balancing school, work, the gym, friends, and a relationship is not easy, but we always look forward to having our time to talk and ask how our days are going and how we are feeling. Another thing I admire about his listening is how he never goes on his phone when I am talking to him. Nothing irritates me more if I am trying to have a conversation with someone and they are texting or scrolling on social media, especially if this takes place in a restaurant. I feel like it is hard in today’s society to find people who can actually put their phones down for an hour to enjoy a meal with someone they care about. Sometimes it makes me feel old-fashioned, but it makes me appreciate the way I was raised and how I give people the respect of listening, just as I would like to receive back.

Leave a Reply

