HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Active listeners

Leave a comment

Knowing someone who is an effective listener it is a great thing because then you know that you have someone who will listen to you and or give you advice.  I am grateful that I have a couple of effective listeners in my life.  One of them being one of the most influential people in my life and she has taught me a lot about life and I can only hope that I will grow up to be half as great as she is.

Her name is Mrs. Manter, she is like my second mom.  I love my mom very much but Mrs. Manter is like my mom and everyone else’s mom at school.  She is a very kind person and is always there to listen and give advice when we needed it.  She has taught me so many things that have made part of who I am today.  I have known her for five years now and when I graduated high school it was very hard for me because she has always been there for me and listened to me.  I used to be at school until about five o’clock at night Monday through Friday for swim practice and she just made it really fun.  Almost everyone who had her as a teacher or a coach knew that she was someone that you can go to and just talk.  She was always there to listen.

I think that just knowing someone really well and knowing them for a long time can help you feel more comfortable with sharing things about your life with them.  Those are the kind of people that you know you can trust and talk to about anything that is happening in your life.  Just talking to someone and knowing that they have your back is good.  I am glad that Mrs. Manter is in my life she is an amazing teacher and she will always make an effort to help people.  Iv’e known her for five years now and i’m glad that she has been a part of my life thus far.

Leave a Reply

