HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Active Listening

Leave a comment

Author H. Jackson Brown, Jr., once said the following: “Everyone you meet knows something you don’t know but need to know. Listen and learn from them.” This is true in more than one instance in everyone’s lives whether they know it or not. Every day we learn something new in some aspect of our lives. We may not even realize it when it is happening but we truly don’t even understand the vast amount that we still don’t know. It is important to listen to the things people have to say. Any opinion, thought, concept or idea that is not your own has the potential and most always the guarantee to broaden your intellect. In my own experience there is one specific encounter in which I learned information I was not expecting. After my first heart break when I was 17 I was absolutely devastated just like any teenage girl is after her first heart break. Everyone kept telling me the same old thing; “you’re too good for him” “you’re better off”. They were all trying to help out and I appreciated it; however, I didn’t feel those ways towards him at the time. I didn’t really know how I felt. My sister was with me throughout the entire relationship which for the last few months, was not a happy one. She watched me cry every night and continuously put myself through long distance and unhappy days and nights. After the break up she was the last person I had expected to have advice for me considering she was my little sister who had never even kissed a boy. She came and sat next to me in my sorrows and simply said: “Sometimes good things fall apart so that better things can fall together.” This is an example of a time I was glad I had listened because it was something I needed to know at this time. I listened and I learned from someone unexpected and I am glad I did.

Leave a Reply

