HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Emotions

Leave a comment

My emotional sharing is generally kept to a small circle of people. Personally, I do not like opening up to people unless I know they are truly my friend. I do not want to waste my time talking about my emotions if the person does not care or would judge me. I feel like talking to girls is generally easier, but talking to males does not phase me. I have an older brother and we are extremely close. I usually talk to my best friend Anabelle or my boyfriend Derek when it comes to emotional stuff. I feel like talking with my best friend is a little different than my boyfriend in a way. They are both two people I can always count on to talk to. I think talking about your emotions with people you are close to helps you grow together and be closer towards one another. My boyfriend and I communicate extremely well with each other no matter what kind of mood we are feeling. Something I have learned is that not talking about your emotions can have a build up and make you feel miserable, which is something I used to do. It is hard for me to talk about my emotions sometimes but in the end I know that I will feel better afterwards. I think it is important to not ignore them and act like they aren’t real because they are and its reality. Everyone feels things and is emotional, if they show it or not.

Leave a Reply

