HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

The Outgrouper

Leave a comment

Going from a small Christian School to a medium sized High School wasn’t the easiest thing ever. Also not knowing anyone in said school was probably one of the most scariest experience I’ve ever had. I had been very different, personality wise, from how I am now and was actually shy so making friends didn’t seem like it would be easy for me.  It also seemed like everybody all ready knew each other and had their own group of friends which didn’t help either. Trying to join a group of people who are close and already know everything to know about each other is a real struggle. With all these thoughts running in my head I totally believed making friends was going to be the worst.

The first weeks of school I kept with this mind set that because it was going to be so much work to try and join a group of people I kept to myself and was really quiet; only talking to people when they asked me something but never going out of the way to keep a conversation going. Eventually I met some people who I thought were people that I really like to be friends with and hang out with them. However, the thought of how they all already knew each other and I wouldn’t feel completely part of their group still lingered in the back of my mind when they would ask if I wanted to hang out with them. But I tried to think positively about it and decided that I should try to put myself out there so the next time they asked if I wanted to hang out I said yes and it was honestly the best decision ever. These people are now some of the most closest people to me and I’m so thankful that I got to meet them. They have really helped me get out of my shell and after that i’ve never felt that way again.

Leave a Reply

