HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Expectations

Leave a comment

Enough is said with just a stare. Many times have jokes been created for people like me who are first generation students, my heritage and especially for being a female. I am a Hispanic college student and  that usually  means that I must have lived a difficult life to get here. However, just because I am hispanic does not mean I struggled to get here because I was born here, I am considered a U.S. citizen. Of course, I am very thankful that my parents put themselves in danger so that my siblings and I will have an opportunity of a better life. The point being is that people generalize and have a understanding about hispanics that may not be true, sure it may be true for some but definitely not all.

In regards, to being a first time generation student there is evidence showing that because my parents never attended a higher education then I would be most likely to choose not to attend either. Actually, parents who have an understanding of how tough life is without a higher education encourage their kids to attend a college or university. For example, my parents feel that by letting us know about their life as a child and how much different my siblings and I have it that we then will create a new mindset in regards to our higher education. There is absolutely, many stereotypes that females have acquired there is a lot that do not pertain to everyone, but some stereotypes would be true at least for me. An example, is the idea that women are mostly quiet. I am not sure why I am like that if it’s because that is my personality or I have been exposed to those kind of stereotypes.

Stereotypes make a huge impact to any individual regardless of their racial and social standing. Due to these ideas it affects individuals like me to express how one truly feels. I feel that I have to demonstrate someone who I may not be,but because according to others that’s how I should act, feel or think. That is exactly what I do unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

