HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Big Five Personalities

Leave a comment

Out of the five big personality traits of: extraversion, conscientiousness, openness, agreeableness, and neuroticism; conscientiousness is my most prefer personality about myself. The reasoning behind this preference is because I tend to have my work spaces extremely organized, that way I am able to accomplish my task as quickly and as accurate as possible. The other reason is that when I make plans, I will do everything in my power to make sure those plans happen. The only times plans have not been followed through is either something very important came up. By important I mean like either i got called into work, an injury/illness, or someone is in need of assistance. Either than that it’s usually the other individuals who cancel plans because they were not wanting to do them anymore, made plans with others after the fact we made them, or have forgotten all together. Which leads into how I perceive others based on the personality of conscientiousness alone.

When I see individuals that are not as well organized and thorough, I begin to make assumptions that they are not and will not put in the effort needed to complete specific task on time. But the thing that absolutely gets on my nerves is when people do not follow through on the plans they have made. For me personally, when plans are made a promise is made. A promise in which you say that you will be at a specific location and to x,y, and z. If the person is not able to do what they said they were going to do, how are am I supposed to trust them with other things. I understand if the plans were cancelled about a day or more before, or even the morning of. But when they are cancelled a few minutes or hours, and many times in my case an hour after. Then I will have guard up and see you as a person who is unable to accomplish the smallest of things. That is why for me personally conscientious is the more important personality of the big five personalities.

Leave a Reply

