HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

self concept

Leave a comment

Hello, my name is Steven Bradley. I am a second year business major at CSUMB who enjoys skateboarding, hip hop, jazz and rock music. My favorite genres on tv are anime or adult swim. I believe that when people know what kind of music and tv shows you like, they get a better understanding of who you are . People’s taste in music and tv shows often reflect their sense of humor,personality and past experience.

A time I lost face was when I had just started working at Subway, it wasn’t my first day but I was still new to it and trying understand the job. I remember that I was ringing customer up and he said that  he wanted  two chocolate chip cookies with his sandwich, so I go and grab his chocolate cookies and I accidentally drop the tray and all the cookies fall to the floor. I just stood there as my hopes of having a job crumbled before my eyes. The customer simply started laughing and saying “it’s okay.” But on the inside I only felt the need to scream “i quit!!!” and walk out the door. But as the day went on and I apologized to my manager and thought she was going to fire me but instead she simply said “it’s okay, don’t worry about it”.  After that I felt much better at my failed attempt and thought maybe i can survive here at this job.

One of the labels that I am often called is happy-go-lucky. I find that I often go with the flow and I stay in the moment. I take life by the horns and make the best of it. I do not see the point of staying in a constant state of negativity when there are so much better things in life to look forward to. If a future employer we’re to look at my social media pictures they would probably just think I’m weird. I take pride taking pictures that are pretty weird just because I think its funny. If I was in a situation with a person that shared too much too soon I would probably just stick around to see how it goes and try to leave the friendship with the person if it does become a problem.

Leave a Reply

