HCOM 214: Interpersonal COMM & Conflict

Learning interpersonal communication skills to improve every part of our lives

Kindness

Leave a comment

            A label I tend to give myself is that I am a very kind-hearted person. I tend to make sure that my friends and family stay in touch with me to the best of my ability. To me, I think that being kind-hearted has both a negative and positive effect on my life. I hate the idea of hurting someone else’s feelings or making them feel like they are put down. I think I am kind to people because I was bullied a lot when I was in about the fourth or fifth grade up until my freshman year of high school. The thought of people getting bullied usually makes me feel angry since I know what it feels like from first-hand experience.

      I feel like I am happy to have this label, however it is contradicting in some ways because I feel like people take advantage of my kindness. It is hard for me to say no to people because I do not want to upset people or have issues. This year has made me realize who my real friends are from realizing that people take advantage of me. I like to try and take care of myself the best I can while being seven hours away from home, San Diego. This is what made me realize people take advantage of me because I am always the friend who has everything ready and put together or well prepared. I balance my time wisely between school, work, the gym, friends, and my boyfriend, but it is not easy. “Friends” from freshman year do not hang out with me, but somehow they have time to see me at Starbucks and expect a free drink. It started to get old to me and I realized even as nice as I am to people, I need to learn how to not let people step over me anymore.

      I always want to make people feel welcomed around me and I want them to feel like they can be their true self in front of me at any time. My close friends that I have made here at CSUMB feel like family to me.  I have been in a relationship for a little over a year now, and I think having this quality has helped me have a happy and healthy one.

Leave a Reply

